"As the divine light grows brighter,
it reveals what it contains, that is, divine life;
and divine life reveals that the Ultimate Reality is love."
— Thomas Keating in Mystery of Christ

"God has no other possible revelation but ourselves, that we are the only expression of his face in the area where we live and that others have the right to ask me to be Jesus Christ: in spite of all my shortcomings, I am entrusted with the mission of being Christ … the Incarnation is continued through us and that we, that is each of us, we are Christ for others."
— Maurice Zundel in With God in Our Daily Lives

This e-course for Advent will be a quiet, spacious, reflective time in community, where we will feast on scripture and the teachings of Fr. Thomas Keating and other mystical writers. We will reflect on the great themes of this season as they inform and enrich the contemplative life.

We will embody this sacred time through multiple reflective practices:

  • Lectio Divina using scripture and other wisdom writings
  • Visio Divina with art images
  • Musica Divina with various musical selections

The retreat content will be shared via emails sent on Mondays, Wednesdays, and Fridays. Video teachings of Fr. Thomas will be included, and the content and practices will come alive each week during three live Zoom prayer groups where we will both pray in silence and share the practices together. In addition, sharing our reflections and experiences in the online Practice Circle, a worldwide forum open 24/7, will deepen our common bond and inspirations.

The live Zoom prayer groups will follow this format: 25 minutes of Centering Prayer or your silent prayer practice, about 10 minutes of practice, and 15 minutes of community sharing. The schedule for the prayer groups is as follows, starting Monday, November 30 and continuing on Mondays, Wednesdays, and Fridays through December 25. The links to the Zoom room will be included in the emails.

  • Monday – practice with Musica Divina (9am Eastern, 8am Central, 7am Mountain, 6am Pacific)
  • Wednesday – practice with Visio Divina and evening Compline (8pm Eastern, 7pm Central, 6pm Mount
  • Friday – practice with Lectio Divina (9am Eastern, 8am Central 7am Mountain, 6am Pacific)

Partial scholarships to "Lux Divina" are available through Contemplative Outreach. Please go here to fill out an online form.

To register, click on the "Subscribe to E-Course" button below. (6 CEHs for Chaplains available.)

$65.00

SubscribeGive as Gift