The Four-Chambered Heart

"Many native cultures believe that the heart is the bridge between Father Sky and Mother Earth. For these traditions the four-chambered heart, the source for sustaining emotional and spiritual health, is described as being full, open, clear, and strong. These traditions feel that it is important to check the condition of the four-chambered heart daily, asking: 'Am I full-hearted, open-hearted, clear-hearted, and strong-hearted?' "
The Four-Fold Way: Walking the Paths of the Warrior, Teacher, Healer, and Visionary

Cradling Work

"Some shamanic traditions in parts of Africa and the Oceanic societies attend to health and well-being through what is called cradling work, a four-part practice in staying connected to the good, true, and beautiful aspects of one's nature. In cradling work we lie on our back and place both hands over our heart (in many cultures hands symbolize healing). Silently, we acknowledge the character qualities that we appreciate about ourselves, we acknowledge our strengths, we acknowledge the contributions that have been made and continue to be made, and we acknowledge the love given and the love received.

"In these societies mentioned above, this practice is generally done three times a day: once in the soft time of the day, morning; once in the strong time of the day, afternoon; and once in the subtle time of the day, night. Cradling work and the different times of the day remind us that we are soft, strong, and subtle creatures."
The Four-Fold Way: Walking the Paths of the Warrior, Teacher, Healer, and Visionary


"All societies have rituals to acknowledge the major life transitions of birth, initiation, marriage, and death. Ritual is the conscious act of recognizing a life change, and doing something to honor and support the change through the presence of such elements as witnesses, gift-giving, ceremony, and sacred intention. In this way human beings support the changes they are experiencing and create a way 'to fit things together.' "
The Four-Fold Way: Walking the Paths of the Warrior, Teacher, Healer, and Visionary


"In every culture, the circle symbolizes wholeness and the experience of unity. When people are engaged in the search for wholeness they aspire to independence and individuation. What they need most is space, room in which to find themselves and develop their own identity. What they fear most is entrapment, being caught in a situation that will restrict or restrain them."
Signs of Life: The Five Universal Shapes and How to Use Them

Our Inherent Beauty

"Relentlessly the Muses call forward our authenticity and our gifts and talents. All nine of these mythical creatures inspire us to create our futures and to meet our destinies; compel us to take up our own soul tasks; and require us to bring our authentic natures to Earth — which are all functions of the feminine principle found within each man and woman. What the Muses tell us is that the beauty of the human spirit is not an external decoration or a frivolous expensive adjunct to serious matters like knowledge, work, justice, or social responsibility. Rather our inherent beauty lies in trusting our deepest natures and authentically expressing who we are in the world in wise and life-affirming ways."
The Nine Muses: A Mythological Path to Creativity

Bring More Love into the World

"For one hundred days, take an action every day that brings more love into the world — acts of service, gratitude, acknowledgment, and joy that relive suffering. Volunteer for one day at a school; make meals for the elderly; sing or read to sick children; or help a friend or loved one. Ask Erato to help you creatively express love for the one hundred days you select."
The Nine Muses: A Mythological Path to Creativity

The Ultimate Initiation

"The second half of life is the ultimate initiation. In it, we encounter those new, unexpected, unfamiliar, and unknowable moments that remind us that we are a sacred mystery made manifest. If we truly understand what is required of us at this stage, we are blessed with an enormous opportunity to develop and embody wisdom and character. We enjoy limitless possibilities to restore, renew, and heal ourselves. And because of our increased longevity, for the first time in history we also have the opportunity to create a map of spiritual maturity for future generations to use as they enter their own later years."
The Second Half of Life: Opening the Eight Gates of Wisdom