Caroline Myss is an acclaimed medical intuitive and motivational speaker. In this ambitious volume, she presents her findings on fifteen years of research into energy medicine (anatomy and the interworkings of body, mind and spirit) as a pathway to spontaneous physical, emotional and spiritual healing. Here is what she says about the human energy field:

"Everything that is alive pulsates with energy and all of this energy contains information. While it is not surprising that practitioners of alternative or complementary medicine accept this concept, even some quantum physicists acknowledge the existence of an electromagnetic field generated by the body's biological processes. Scientists accept that the human body generates electricity because living tissue generates energy."

Medical intuitives can read this energy field along with the emotional energy system which consists of profound and traumatic experiences, memories, belief patterns and attitudes. Myss presents three principles of energy medicine and intuition: biography becomes biology, personal power is necessary for health and you alone can help yourself heal. In her discussion of the relation of spirituality to energy medicine, she states:

"Today many spiritual seekers are trying to infuse their daily lives with a heightened consciousness of the sacred, striving to act as if each of their attitudes expressed their spiritual essence. Such conscious living is an invocation, a request for personal spiritual authority. It represents a dismantling of the old religions' classic parent-child relationship to God and a move into spiritual adulthood. Spiritual maturation includes not only developing the ability to interpret the deeper messages of sacred texts, but learning to read the spiritual language of the body. As we become more conscious and recognize the impact of our thoughts and attitudes — our internal life — upon our physical bodies and external lives, we no longer need to conceive of an external parent-God that creates for us and on whom we are fully dependent. As spiritual adults we accept responsibility for co-creating our lives and our health. Co-creation is in fact the essence of spiritual adulthood: it is the exercise of choice and the acceptance of our responsibility for those choices."

Myss moves on to a presentation of a new model of the human energy system based upon a synthesis of three spiritual traditions: the Hindu teachings regarding the charkas, the symbolic meaning of the seven Christian sacraments, and the mystical interpretation of the ten sefirot-or Tree of Life-presented in the Zohar, the major text of the Kabbalah, the mystical teachings of Judaism. These three spiritual traditions symbolize the seven levels of the human energy system, the seven stages of human development, and the seven essential lessons of the universal spiritual path, or the hero's journey.

The Seven Sacred Truths which are covered in detail are:

• The First Chakra: Tribal Power
• The Second Chakra: The Power of Relationships
• The Third Chakra: Personal Power
• The Fourth Chakra: Emotional Power
• The Fifth Chakra: The Power of Will
• The Sixth Chakra: The Power of the Mind
• The Seventh Chakra: Our Spiritual Connector

In these heady chapters, Myss covers many subjects including the energy consequences of belief patterns, the challenge of managing sexual energy, the four stages of personal power, loving oneself as the path to the Divine, between the head and the heart, consciousness and death, spiritual crisis and the need for devotion. Mysss concludes with a chapter titled "A Guide for the Contemporary Mystic" in which she delivers the following seven sacred truths of the body and spirit:

• All Is One
• Honor One Another
• Honor Oneself
• Love Is the Divine Power
• Surrender Personal Will to Divine Will
• Seek Only Truth
• Live In the Present Moment